Men’s Bowling at Tea Gardens saw Club Fours Championship played

The usual Wednesday Nominated Triples competition for Tea Gardens Men’s Bowlers, scheduled for Wednesday 28 January, was well and truly washed out however, the rain cleared to allow the Club Fours Championship Final to be played in blustery conditions.

John Slater and Neil Kibble

John Slater and Neil Kibble

The very strong team of; John Parkinson, Tom Parkinson, John Bilby and Dennis Ashbridge proved to be too consistent in beating the team of ; Neil Kibble, Col Amos, David Rimmer and Danny Johnson, by 18 shot to 10.

In the Friday Jackpot Pairs, played on 30 January, a green-filling compliment of 30 players turned out to compete for the $200.00 jackpot.

There were 6 games of pairs and one game of triples. In order to have a place in the jackpot, teams must at least win their game.

Cash prizes are awarded for first and second placing and each of the winning margins is placed in a barrel for the jackpot draw.

The overall winners for the day were the team of; Stewart Sturrock and Mick Hobin (Brush Park BC) on +20.

The runners-up on +19 were; John Moore and Kevin Mills, (Wallsend BC).

The number 9 was drawn which just happened to be the winning margin secured by the combination of; John Slater and Neil Kibble. (each $100.00 richer)

So the jackpot was won. A new jackpot will commence next Friday.

This was the second time John Slater has one the jackpot, (hope it’s not his last), which just goes to demonstrate that persistence pays off.

Sunday Introduction to Bowls welcomed a new bowler, Billie Baillie.

Hope she enjoyed her first bowling experience. A total of 28 bowlers participated and the winners were a fours team comprising; Harry Hauben, Neil Montgomery, Dorothy Thompson and Julie Kennedy.

Lucky losers were; Dennis Wilberforce, Geoff Page, Dot Montgomery and David Neale,( who shared a game with Beverly Thrift).

Thanks to the Master Chefs, Merv Mills and Stewart Sturrock  and coach John Bilby.

The first round of the Club Triples Championship was played on Sunday February 1 following Sunday Introduction to Bowls. A very good field of 12 teams entered.

The winning teams,( represented by their respective skips), were as follows:

John Bilby 19 – Terry Isles 16. Col Amos 15 – Bob Foster 14. Sean Mearrick- Bye. Dennis Ashbridge 25 – Ron James 17. John Carey 34 – Graham Kelly 12. Barry Drayton 32 – John Adam 5. Jeff Baker – Bye.

The match between Leigh Hunt and Paul Syron has been deferred and will be played before the second round commencing on Saturday 7 February.

In other news, the Tea Gardens Fours combination of Richard Lee, Jeff Baker, Sean Mearrick and Paul Syron were narrowly defeated in the Newcastle District Knockout Fours winning on Saturday and narrowly losing by 2 shots at Nelson Bay, on Sunday, by a red-hot team which included a New Zealand international player.  Well done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *