Local sport results for the Myall Coast


Tea Gardens Runners

At Raymond Terrace Primary Schools Zones 5-8/8/14
8-10yrs Girls: Lilly-Ann White 800m 2nd. 200m 1st. 100m 1st.
Keira McGregor 800m 4th. 200m 3rd. 8yrs Girls: Keira McGregor 100m 1st in 16.03
At the Lookout 10.8.14
6Kms: Tate Bruinsma 25m36, Ben Rochester 40m27, Tracey Rochester 40m28.
4Kms: Brad Markham 22m02.
Our next run at the Lookout will be the Fun Run on Sunday 17th of August. Walkers, Joggers and Runners are all welcome.


Tea Gardens Men’s Bowls

By The Jaffa
Wednesday August 6: Winners, Bill Moon, Keith Smith and Bill Thrift. Runners-up, Ross Barry, Ron Green and Danny Johnson.
Friday August 8Bob Foster and Doug Naylor
The numbers on Jackpot Friday have suddenly increased dramatically with 30 bowlers competing. The lowest margin was chosen for the draw this week and the winners, playing the only triples match, on +1 were: Ross Barry, Anthony Grant and Kerry O’Brien. Runners-up on +2 were, Ian Baker and Ray Sullivan.
The jackpot was not won so there will be plenty to play for next week.
Saturday August 9
The semi-finals of the Minor Singles were completed in near perfect weather conditions. The results were:
Doug Naylor defeated John Lawson 31-24 and Bob Foster defeated Alan Greenhalgh 31-25 to set up a Naylor / Foster final. Both games were very entertaining and a credit to the players.
Sunday 10 August
The usual Introduction to Bowls competition was held with 34 bowlers and prospective bowlers competing. The winners were:
Harry Kennedy, Jim Woods and Danny Johnson. The runners-up being the fours team of Sue Haigsworth, Pressey Swadling, Bruce Everett and Neil Montgomery.
Club Minor Singles
In the main event of the day, the Club Minor Singles, between Doug Naylor and Bob Foster, was played on the grass, (which is running nice and true at a slick 16.5-17secs).
Doug settled in quickly and led 5-1 at end 5 but once Bob found his line and length on his preferred long ends, Doug knew he was in for a fight. The final score, favouring Bob 31-10 does not indicate the quality of the bowls played by both players.
It was a case of déjà vu for Doug, being runner-up for the second year in a row.

Tea Gardens Women’s Bowls

5/8/14: Winners Chis Fossey, Elke Jones, Olive McKeown and Wendy Jones
7/8/14: Winners Pressy Swadling, Clair Brown, Merle Sargeant and Lyn Green.
The Club will be represented by the 2014 Club Fours Champions, Bev Stephens, Jo Younghusband, Lily Smith and Dale Winter, when they contest the Newcastle District Versatility Day on Monday 11 August.


Hawks Nest Bridge Club

AGM. Just one position is being contested, that of Hon. Sec. where Christina La Ponder and Margaret Burfield have nominated. Uncontested are Trish Gratwick, Chez Rands and Bea Treharne in the statutory roles of President, V-P and Treasurer. Minor roles are Sue Matheson, Linda Conroy, Bill Shean plus your Scribe. HNBC programme. Friday 19th August Australia Wide Pairs
Friday 22 August HNBC Annual General Meeting starting 10.30am
Sunday 31 August Regional final GNOT at Newcastle B.C. 9.00AM for a 9.30 start. Saturday & Sunday 20 / 21 September Great Lakes congress. Hunter Teams. Hunter Teams. Congratulations to Christina La Ponder, Sue Donohue, Mary Weatherley and (last minute substitute) Bea Treharne for their win in “C” grade. Club Results. Monday 4 August – Howell. 1, Trish & Jim Thatcher, 2, Beth Milne & Margaret Rowden 3 Carol Richards & Sue Matheson
Friday 8 August 3rd round GNOT i.e. not final positions. Team Caro, Seymour, Thatcher & Thatcher, 2 La Ponder, Donohue, Whalan & Richards, 3= Pearson, Williams, Gratwick & Gratwick, 3= Parrett, Ryan, Dane & Melrose.


Bulahdelah Golf Club

06/8/2014: Ladies Golf winner – C.Richards.07/8/2014 Veterans Golf Winner– D.Gray. Runner Up – R.Green. 09/8/2014 2BBB Team Winners – N.Malone and A.Robertson. Team R/Up – S.Ellis and S.McNaughton. Individual Winner – N.Palmer. Ladies NTP 8th – A.Syme. Mens NTP 8th- C.Littlechild. NTP 6th – A. Newell. Jackpot 17th – A.Benson.

Myall Coast Vets

Event Stableford: A Grade 1st Tony WARD 18. 2nd Breton GIBBS 18. 3rd Lyle HUDSON 20. 4th Terry HOOLAHAN 19. 5th Peter HOWARD 16. B Grade 1st Alan GREENHALGH 24. 2nd Ron STEWART 24. 3rd Keith HARRAP 25. 4th Tony SCHIPANO 23. 5th Peter KELLAWAY 28. C Grade 1st Rocky WRIGHT 36. 2nd Barry WHITEMAN 34. 3rd Barry JONES 33. 4th Tommy CURRAN 33. 5th Bruce PEARSON 33. NTP 10th Hole A Grade R Walsh.B Grade Ron Stewart. C Grade Barry Collins. NTP 16th Hole A Grade B G bbs. B Grade E Lindstrom. C Grade Roger Richards.


Karuah Roos

Another pleasant Saturday afternoon at the football watching an exciting game between Karuah Roos and the Kotara Bears which saw the Roos come out winners in a high scoring game 66-32. Try scorers this week were ; 1 try each to Mitch Napier & Trent Saunders, 2 each to Daniel Evans & Ben Bradley, 4 to Josh Page who also converted 8 goals. Tyson Stamp kicked 1 goal. Players Player; 1st Tyson Stamp, 2nd Daniel Evans, 3rd Ben Bradley. Coaches Award ; Mitch Napier. Man on the Hill Jon-Roy Clarke. Home game next Saturday against Woodberry 2p.m. kick-off . Be there for the last home game before the semi finals.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *